hpt versus addie

20 09 2005

in my masters program’s reading list for one course, we were asked to read alison rossett’s concise chapter,analysis for human performance technology in the handbook for performance technology which covers the basic principles of the human performance technology (hpt) model. i believe hpt – or something like it – is a part of our profession’s future. there are a number of reasons i like hpt and think it will be influential in the coming years.

1) from the first steps, hpt is focused on solving performance problems. not on making training cooler, better, flashier,…..

2) hpt seeks to follow a cosistent, rigorous and scientific approach to content creation which will serve to set expectations of learners and their managers.

3) hpt easily sits along side of or works in conjunction with other major corporate initiatives like six sigma and tqm.

4) human performance technicians are provided with guidelines that work as a workflow roadmap.

when i’ll be able to squeeze it into my schedule and have the revenue in order to pay for it aside, i’ve set it as a personal goal to earn hpt certification.  what are your opinions?  am i on the mark? or am i a few slices short of a loaf?  hit the comments button and speak up!


Actions

Information

One response

17 10 2005
Harold Jarche

First, I agree that HPT is an excellent lens to approach training & development. I have used HPT methods and tools for the past ten years and they have not failed me. HPT is not the only approach but my practice shows that it’s rather useful.

As a CPT myself, I’m not sure about its value. ASTD just dropped out of the arrangement with ISPI, so being a CPT may be a harder sell in the future. I have found that the re-certification requirements are much too expensive, involving attendance at a minimum of three conferences. For me, on the east coast of Canada, re-certification is about $10K (it will be cheaper for someone based in a major US city). I can’t afford it and will let it slide. Also, I have found in the past three years that being a CPT has not brought me any more clients or better rates. My clients haven’t got a clue what a CPT is anyway.

On the other hand, I think that the requirements for becoming a CPT are excellent and a great way to prepare onself as a performance consultant. If you’re doing it for purely professional development purposes, then go for it. The ROI for an independent consultant is less obvious.

Leave a Reply

